Encyclopedia - Online Databases
Image: Mathematicians & Astronomers. Source & Copyright Information: NYPL Digital Gallery provides free and open access to over 700,000 images digitized from primary sources and printed rarities in the vast collections of The New York Public Library, including drawings, illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints and photographs, illustrated books, printed ephemera, and more.
- Encyclopedia AmericanaFull text. Includes complete encyclopedia plus: Interactive Atlas, World Newspapers, Dictionary, and Pro/Con Debate Starters
- Encyclopaedia BritannicaFull text. Includes the complete encyclopedia plus: Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus, and 300,000 links to websites selected by the editors
- World Book AdvancedFull text. Includes complete encyclopedia plus: Atlas, Dictionary, Fiction and Non-Fiction Ebooks, and World Newspapers
Start with Reference Sources
Reference sources are useful for:
- Choosing a topic
- Understanding terminology
- Locating background information
- Identifying good search terms
- Identifying additional resources
Reference and Online Resources:
- Access ScienceFull text science encyclopedia--see Mathematics in the Contents--includes definitions, biographies, news, evaluated websites, study guides, and illustrations and images
- Dictionary of mathematicsCall Number: R 510.3 D554
- Encyclopaedia BritannicaA general encyclopedia
- Facts on File dictionary of mathematicsCall Number: R 510.3 F142
- History of modern science and mathematicsCall Number: R 509 H673
- Notable mathematicians : from ancient times to the presentCall Number: R 510 N899
- Oxford Reference Online Over 175 reference titles from Oxford University Press
- Real-Life Math (e-book)"Provides an understanding of commonly studied math concepts by illustrating their use in everyday life in everyday tasks"
- Timetables of science : a chronology of the most important people and events in the history of scienceCall Number: R 509 H477t
- Women of mathematics : a biobibliographic sourcebookCall Number: R 510 W872
Need Help? |
Links: Profile & Guides |


Loading...
