This is the "Getting Started" page of the "Countries & Cultures" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Countries & Cultures   Tags: countries, cultures, geography, history  

Guide to resources on the countries & cultures of the world
Last Updated: Apr 20, 2012 URL: http://libguides.library.deerfield.edu/countries Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 

Encyclopedia - Online Databases

  • Encyclopedia Americana
    Full text. Includes complete encyclopedia plus: Interactive Atlas, World Newspapers, Dictionary, and Pro/Con Debate Starters
  • Encyclopaedia Britannica
    Country information from the encyclopedia and the Britannica Student Encyclopedia, plus the Britannica Book of the Year--includes websites selected by the editors--compare countries and gather world data under Research Tools
  • World Book Advanced
    Full text. Includes complete encyclopedia plus: Atlas, Dictionary, Fiction and Non-Fiction Ebooks, and World Newspapers

Start with Reference Sources

Reference sources are useful for:

  • Choosing a topic
  • Understanding terminology
  • Locating background information
  • Identifying good search terms
  • Identifying additional resources

Large sets and individual volumes on the history of specific countries, including modern history, are located in the 900's

  • Europe--940's
  • Asia--950's
  • Africa--960's
  • North America--970's
  • South America--980's
  • and other areas--990's

Selected Reference and Online Resources:

Need Help?

Profile Image
When you need the best information quickly,
Library Staff are life savers.
Ask us for help.
Contact Info
413-774-1510
Email:
Janet Eckert Patricia Kelly
Lynne Robbins

Need Help with your Research Paper?

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip