This is the "Home" page of the "Choose the BEST RESEARCH DATABASE for your needs" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Choose the BEST RESEARCH DATABASE for your needs   Tags: controversial topics, current news, databases, images, primary documents, scholarly journal articles  

The Boyden Library purchases research databases to support the curriculum and provide electronic access to quality information sources.
Last Updated: Oct 7, 2013 URL: http://libguides.library.deerfield.edu/database Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Best for BACKGROUND INFORMATION

  • Academic World Book

    "Features a wealth of articles, thousands of e-books, and more than one hundred thousand primary source documents along with academic writing and research guides."
  • Encyclopaedia Britannica

    Full text. Includes the complete encyclopedia plus: Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus, and 100,000 links to websites selected by the editors
  • Encyclopedia Americana

    Full text. Includes complete encyclopedia plus: Interactive Atlas, World Newspapers, Dictionary, and Pro/Con Debate Starters

Best for CONTROVERSIAL TOPICS

  • CQ Researcher Plus Archive

    Full text. (1923-present) Online version of a weekly periodical that provides in-depth, non-biased coverage of political and social issues--each issue includes a chronology, a pro and con section, and a bibliography.
  • Opposing Viewpoints in Context

    Full text. Incorporates secondary sources and articles from major newspapers and news magazines to provide coverage of major issues of the day--includes statistics, government data, laws and legislation, political positions, public policies and more.

Best for CURRENT NEWS Articles

  • Academic OneFile

    Full text plus citations and abstracts only. A general academic database that indexes leading journals and reference sources--includes peer-reviewed articles in all disciplines--includes full text of the New York Times, 1995-present.

What is a RESEARCH DATABASE?

Periodicalsjournals, magazines, or newspapers - are publications published on a regular basis (daily, weekly, monthly).

Indexes are finding tools for periodical articles. The primary advantage of an index is the ability to search by subject. Indexes may be in either paper or electronic format.

Electronic periodical indexes are called "Research Databases" in this library. Some contain the full text of articles. Some contain a combination of citations and full text. Some contain only citations.

The Boyden Library purchases research databases to support the curriculum and provide electronic access to quality information sources.

Access Boyden Library's Research Databases by:

Best for PRIMARY DOCUMENTS

  • American History Online

    Full-text. Provides comprehensive coverage of the history of America and its people--includes biographies, primary sources, timelines, images, maps and charts.
  • American Periodicals Series

    (plus Historical Newspapers)
    Full text. 1740-1940. Provides digitized images of American magazines and journals including general interest magazines, children's publications, and more than 20 journals for women--search this database along with the Historical Newspapers or by itself.
  • Annals of American History

    "More than 2,000 primary source documents including speeches, memoirs, and interviews."
  • Modern World History Online

    Covers world history from the mid-15th century to the present--includes subject entries, biographies, images and videos, maps and charts, primary sources, timelines, and more.
  • Salem History: Milestone Documents

    African American History | American History | World History | World Religions
  • SIRS Decades

    Full text. Contains primary sources from the 20th century and reference source content organized into topics pertaining to American history, culture, and daily life--primary sources include: advertisements, editorial cartoons, letters, memos, messages, maps and charts, original documents, original works of art, photographs, poems and literary works, posters, published articles, speeches and addresses.
 

Acknowledgements

This LibGuide was inspired by the Library Databases LibGuide created by Schauffler Library at Northfield Mount Hermon.

 

Search LibGuides

Need Help?

Ask A Librarian.

Best for IMAGES

  • ARTstor

    Searchable database of more than 300,000 images applicable different times, cultures, and disciplines. Combination of images, data, and texts provides comprehensive art-related teaching, learning, and researching capabilities. Can view and analyze images through features such as zooming and panning.
  • Image Quest

      
      
    "Access more than two million rights-cleared images from over 50 of the best collections in the world."

Best for SCHOLARLY JOURNAL ARTICLES

  • Academic Search Complete

    Full text plus citations and abstracts only. A general academic database that indexes over 8,000 leading publications in all subject areas and provides full text for over 4,000 of those titles--over 3,500 titles are peer-reviewed or scholarly publications.
  • JSTOR

    Full text. An archive of core scholarly journals back to the 1800's
    Due to agreements with journal publishers, does not include current issues from the last 3-5 years
 

QR Code

Scan to access the mobile version of this guide with your Smartphone.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip