The 1950's
Image ID: 1227833 | Dwight D. Eisenhower. NYPL Digital Gallery provides free and open access to over 700,000 images digitized from primary sources and printed rarities in the vast collections of The New York Public Library, including drawings, illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints and photographs, illustrated books, printed ephemera, and more.
Need Help with your Research Paper?
Start with Reference Sources
Reference sources are useful for:
- Choosing a topic
- Understanding terminology
- Locating background information
- Identifying good search terms
- Identifying additional resources
Literature resources are found in the 800's in the Reference Collection
Selected reference sources:
- American Chronicle, R 973.91 G663am
- American Decades: 1950-1959, R 973.9 A513de, v.6
- American Decades: Primary Sources: 1950-1959, R 973.9 A512dp, v.6
- The American Years: a Chronology of United States History, R 973 G878am
- Britannica Book of the Year, R 032 E56b
- Chronicle of America, R 973 C557 Ch
- Day by Day: the Fifties, R 909.825 M572d
- Encyclopedia of American History: Postwar United States, 1946 to 1968, R 973.03 M268en v.9
- The Fifties in America, R 973.92 F469
- Historical Dictionary of the 1950's, R 973.921 O52h
- St. James Encyclopedia of Popular Culture, R 973.9 S143 (see also e-book)
- The Value of a dollar : prices and incomes in the United States, 1860-1989, R 338.52 V215
Reference databases:
- American History OnlineComprehensive coverage of the history of America and its people--includes biographies, primary sources, timelines, images, maps and charts
- Encyclopaedia BritannicaA general encyclopedia including U.S. History and literature topics
- Oxford Reference Online Over 175 reference titles from Oxford University Press
- SIRS DecadesContains primary sources from the 20th century and reference sources pertaining to American history, culture, and daily life
Need Help? |
Links: Profile & Guides |


Loading...
