Latin American Artists
When consulting reference sources and other books, look for clues that can inform your search for information in databases and on the Internet:
- Citations for other books & articles from the bibliography
- Events that might have been newsworthy
- Museums that have collections by your artist
- Galleries where works by the artist were exhibited
- Universities that the artist attended may have a special collection
Start with Reference Sources
Reference sources are useful for:
- Choosing a topic
- Understanding terminology
- Locating background information
- Identifying good search terms
- Identifying additional resources
Print and Online Reference Resources:
Artists from Latin American Cultures: a Biographical Dictionary
Call Number: R 709.8 C749ar- Encyclopaedia BritannicaA general, online encyclopedia
- Encyclopedia of Latin American and Caribbean ArtCall Number: R 709.8 E56
- Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture This electronic book "provides a comprehensive, multidisciplinary view of Latin American history and culture from prehistoric times to the present.
- Encyclopedia of World ArtCall Number: R 703 E56
- Oxford Art OnlineOnline art encyclopedia--browse the Biographical and Subject Entries alphabetically with the links under the database title
- Oxford Reference Online Over 175 reference titles from Oxford University Press
- Spanish Reference CenterContains 3 Spanish language encyclopedias: Enciclopedia Universal en Espanol, Planeta Saber, and Enciclopedia Juvenil
- St. James Guide to Hispanic Artists:Profiles of Latino and Latin American ArtistsCall Number: R 709.8 S143
Need Help? |
Links: Profile & Guides |



Loading...
