FAQ: Celebrity Giving

- 2011 Giving Back 30: Celebrities Donate More Than $79 Million to Charities Around The United States"A list of the 30 celebrities who made the largest donations to charity in 2010 according to public records. The list ... includes celebrities from many walks of life including actors, writers, producers, musicians, comedians, and athletes." ~ The Giving Back Fund: Integrity and Innovation in Philanthropy
- Charity Begins at Home for American Billionairesby Laurie Bennett, Forbes, 12/25/11.
- In Pictures: Most Generous of the Forbes Celebrity 100Includes dollar amount and percentage of salary that selected celebrities have given to charity. [See: "Read the full story"] 11/24/2008
- Look to the Stars: The World of Celebrity Giving"Lists over 2690 celebrities and the charities they support."
- Look Who's Making (And Receiving) $1 Million-Plus Giftsby Ashlea Ebeling, Forbes, 10/05/2011
- The 30 Most Generous Celebritiesby Anderson Antunes, Forbes 1/11/2012
- The Most Valuable Celebrity Charity RelationshipsBy Zack O'Malley Greenburg, Forbes, 11/30/2011
- The World's Biggest Giversby Luisa Kroll, Forbes, 5/19/2011
Start with Reference Sources

Reference sources are useful for:
- Choosing a topic
- Understanding terminology
- Locating background information
- Identiying good search terms
- Identifying additional resources
Selected Reference and Online Sources on Philanthrophy and Philanthropists:
America's Top Donors
(Chronicle of Philanthropy)Subtitle: A directory of top contributors and their beneficiaries. PLEASE NOTE: Through the Boyden Library, DA students and faculty have full access to "The Chronicle of Philanthropy" from 1998 to present.Biography in Context
Search by Occupation: philanthropist
Sort results by "Birth Date Descending"- Current Biography YearbookCall Number: R 920 C976
- Encyclopaedia BritannicaGeneral encyclopedia including links to websites evaluated by the editors
- Notable American philanthropists : biographies of giving and volunteeringCall Number: R 361.7 N899
All philantropists listed in this work are deceased. - Philanthropy 50: Americans who gave the most in 2009Chronicle of Philanthropy, February 7, 2010
- Philanthropy 50: Americans Who Gave the Most in 2010The Chronicle of Philanthropy, February 6, 2011
Chronicle of Philanthropy: Library Subscription Information
Periodicals & E-Journals
- Chronicle of Philanthropy Library Subscription InformationRecommended Reading:
A Year of Big Bequests (1/29/2009),
A Big Year for Big Giving (1/24/2008),
Record-Breaking Giving (2/22/2007)
Need Help? |
Links: Profile & Guides |
Encyclopedia - Online Databases
- Encyclopedia AmericanaFull text. Includes complete encyclopedia plus: Interactive Atlas, World Newspapers, Dictionary, and Pro/Con Debate Starters
- Encyclopaedia BritannicaFull text. Includes the complete encyclopedia plus: Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus, and 300,000 links to websites selected by the editors
- World Book AdvancedFull text. Includes complete encyclopedia plus: Atlas, Dictionary, Fiction and Non-Fiction Ebooks, and World Newspapers



Loading...
