Need Help with your Research Paper?
Start with Reference Sources
The United States History: Reference Bibliography lists a selection of reference sources relating to U.S. History in all areas of the Boyden Library Reference Collection.
Reference sources are useful for:
- Choosing a topic
- Understanding terminology
- Locating background information
- Identifying good search terms
- Identifying additional resources
Print and Online Reference Resources:
- American decadesCall Number: R 973.9 A512de
- American Decades (e-book)10 vols., one for each decade of the 20th Century
- American decades primary sourcesCall Number: R 973.9 A512dp
- American Decades: Primary Sources (e-book) Companion to American Decades--10 vols., one for each decade of the 20th Century
- American Eras (e-book) "Includes essays on events, publications, lifestyles and individuals important to various eras in U.S. history"
- American History OnlineA reference database
- Civil Rights Movement: People & Perspectives (e-book)"Explores the history of the struggle by African Americans for freedom, justice, and equality"
- Colonial American: An Encyclopedia of Social, Political, Cultural, and Economic History (e-book)
- Dictionary of American historyCall Number: R 973.03 A214a
- Encyclopaedia BritannicaA general database including U.S. History topics
- Encyclopedia of African American History, 1896 to the present (e-book) "Focusing on the making of African American society from the 1896 ruling of Plessy v. Ferguson up to the contemporary period"
- Encyclopedia of American cultural and intellectual historyCall Number: R 973 E56 2001
- Encyclopedia of American Folklife (e-book)
- Encyclopedia of American history : from 1763 to the presentCall Number: R 973.03 M268en
- Encyclopedia of Southern cultureCall Number: R 975 E56
- Encyclopedia of the American WestCall Number: R 978 E56
- Encyclopedia of the United States in the nineteenth centuryCall Number: R 973.03 E56n
- History DatabasesInclude reference sources
- History in Dispute: American Social and Political Movements, 1900-1945: Pursuit of Progress (e-book)
- History in Dispute: American Social and Political Movements, 1945-2000: Pursuit of Liberty (e-book)
- Milestone Documents in American History: exploring the primary sources that shaped America (e-book)
- Oxford Reference Online Over 175 reference titles from Oxford University Press
Need Help? |
Links: Profile & Guides |


Loading...
